Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Year Groups

Ridgeway Academy is a learning community where everyone is encouraged to develop their potential; adults and students alike.  The quality of learning the teaching is constantly under review and we are proud of our improving exam results.  The supportive environment we provide for our students helps everyone believe in their future success.

YEAR ORGANISATION

In charge of the students of each year is a Director of Learning, together with a link member of the Senior Leadership Team (SLT), whose responsibilities include overview of attendance, work, welfare, discipline, co-ordination of tutorial activities, maintaining close links with parents and outside agencies.

 STUDENT

 Form Tutor

 Director of Learning

 SLT Link Member

Year 7 Form Tutors – September 2018

 

Form Group

 

Tutor

 

Other Links

7 Oxford
Ms Vaughn/ Mr Wyatt

Director of Learning:        Mrs M Tinker

 Merideth.Tinker@ridgeway.herts.sch.uk

SLT Link:                        Mr S Booth

Steve.Booth@ridgeway.herts.sch.uk

7 Cambridge
Carter
7 Kings
Mr Pring
7 Edinburgh
Mr Bera
7 Durham Dr Hurcus

Year 9 Form Tutors – September 2018

 

Form Group

 

Tutor

 

Other Links

9 Oxford
Miss Haliday

Director of Learning:        Mr Sarjeant

William.Sarjeant@ridgeway.herts.sch.uk

SLT Link:                        Mr Milne

Jonathan.Milne@ridgeway.herts.sch.uk

9 Cambridge
Dr Wheeler
9 Kings
9 Edinburgh
Miss Picariello

 

Year 11 Form Tutors – September 2018

 

Form Group

 

Tutor

 

Other Links

11 Oxford
Mr Chappeli

Director of Learning:        Mrs Spence

Julia.Spence@ridgeway.herts.sch.uk

SLT Link:                        Mrs Maddocks

Caroline.Maddocks@ridgeway.herts.sch.uk

11 Cambridge
Mrs Johnson
11 Kings
Mrs Symeou/ Mr Boyd

 

Year 8 Form Tutors – September 2018

 

Form Group

 

Tutor

 

Other Links

8 Oxford
Ms Lewin

Director of Learning:        Mr K Koupis

kostas.koupis@ridgeway.herts.sch.uk

SLT Link:                        Miss J Smith

Jackie.Smith@ridgeway.herts.sch.uk

8 Cambridge
Mrs Bek / Miss Hardy
8 Kings
Miss Standage
8 Edinburgh
Miss Fielding
8 Durham Mr Puntrello

Year 10 Form Tutors – September 2018

 

Form Group

 

Tutor

 

Other Links

10 Oxford
Mr Sutton

Director of Learning:        Miss Ward

Gemma.Ward@ridgeway.herts.sch.uk

SLT Link:                        Mrs Maddocks

Caroline.Maddocks@ridgeway.herts.sch.uk

10 Cambridge
Mr Haparari
10 Kings
Mr Broad
10 Edinburgh
Mrs Yelland

 

6th Form Tutors – September 2018

6th form Tutors

 

Other Links

Mrs Spanyol

Head of Sixth Form:        Mrs Merrigan

Sarah.Merrigan@ridgeway.herts.sch.uk

SLT Link:                        Mr Whelan

Head@ridgeway.herts.sch.uk

 

Mr Boyd
Mrs Black Phillips
Mrs Moretto

 

Entry to our “Sixth Form” is dependent on students having achieved specific academic qualifications.  Some students may be accepted into the Sixth Form on a probationary basis.  The Welwyn Hatfield Consortium allows a wide range of subjects to be studied at Advanced Level in the Sixth Form, as well as A.V.C.E. courses.

Sixth Form life offers students a variety of educational and social experiences, which are frequently linked in a comprehensive complementary studies programme, culminating in a General Studies ‘A’ Level qualification. Details of all Sixth Form courses are published in a booklet, which is issued to all Year 11 students.